Getting my Belated Stalk on!

Social Media Monitoring, is the flavour of well 2 weeks ago now, but what is it? Its the process of monitoring an organizations social media channel’s. These include blogs, twitter feeds, facebook pages and any other tool which can be associated with social networking. It has one HUGE benefit for the organisation. It lets them know what their customers think is hot and what is not, which helps facilitate what they need to improve on, stock in stores or provide for their customers. The two tools I chose to use for this exercise were “Addictomatic” and “Social Mention”.

Both of these tools provide a plethora of information from blog posts and youtube videos to Bing news and Flickr (plus heaps more). The company I chose was Big W, as I myself work there and figured that I would find it interesting to see results that came up for the company to see one way they make their decisions. 

First I used Addictomatic, with this little creeper of robot below.Image

 

I found this tool to be absolutely fantastic. I started off with a few basic searches of the companies name as keywords which returned multiple results (mostly recent news, posts about the company, experiences etc). Then I set the keywords to be more specific, aiming more at brand names (e.g. Sunbeam) and exact product names (e.g. Monster High and Retro Toaster). It returned with a variety of posts, videos and images in relation to the keywords, both positive and negative. Seeing it return so many results so quickly easily gave me an understanding of how it instantly benefits the organisation as a whole. I also found the tool to have an exceptional layout as I’m sure others have found in there experiences.

I then turned my attention to Socialmention

.Image

 

 

Although useful, I found Socialmention to be lackluster as opposed to Addictomatic. The layout for starters was nowhere near as clean and when I entered keywords, it did not return as many results, nor anywhere near the same variety. The only benefit I found it had over Addictomatic  was the prevalence of graph’s and charts, which made it easier to identify values for certain catagories.

My personal choice: Addictomatic!

I personally found Addictomatic to be a much easier and rewarding experience . The number of results returned as well as the variety of results proved to be more rewarding than the prevalence of graphs, as it provided deeper information on the subject. However it would be a very nice addition to include graphs and charts like what was included in Socialmention.

Thanks guys.

 

1 thought on “Getting my Belated Stalk on!

Leave a comment